Competitive 40k tactics and Battle Reports with the Tyranid Codex

Saturday, September 8, 2012

Tyranids FAQ Snafu

Good News! I switched to Geic... oh, right. Well, GW released some new FAQs the other day that clarified several things, and also fixed Paladins, thank goodness. No more LoS! Shenanigans! Tyranids got a minor buff in that Hive Guard are now beyond all arguments on what they do. (A few people still argued for smoke launchers somehow...) Also, FMCs gained skyfire. Woo! However, this little gem popped up... (bolded for effect)
Q: How do Maelstroms , Novas and Beams– or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming flyers and Gliding Monstrous creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
This seems like a typo. Gliding should almost certainly be replaced by swooping in the above.  It has to be, given the context of Zooming flyers, yet somehow they made FMCs that are gliding just as good as Swooping. However, I'm pretty sure that all TOs will ignore this. Again, it seems a simple typo, but I see a few RAW people trying to sneak this by an unwarned opponent... So, for the TOs out there, how will you deal with this? Even the most unreasonable of Internet-dwellers should be able to understand if you choose not to use this clear Snafu by the GW FAQ team.

Then again, if this is somehow intentional (which I believe it is not!) that just made Flying Tyrantsfreaking amazing. Like ungodly. But, it's not intentional by all reasoning.